Northern Railway was established in the year 1952 and is one of the largest zones of Indian Railways.It comprises of five divisions.

Division under Northern Railway:

· 1. Delhi
· 2. Moradabad
· 3. Ferozpur
· 4. Ambala
· 5. Lucknow

Northern Railway jurisdiction spreads over the following states and union terriorties namely Delhi, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, Jammu & Kashmir, Uttaranchal Uttar Pradesh and Chandigarh. The signalling systems of northern railways are modern and sophisticated. It has the largest route relay interlocking system in the world.

One of the important train routes in northern railway is the Kalka Simla mountain railway which meanders its way to Simla, a scenic tourist spot in northern India. Simla was the summer capital during the British period.

Since this Railway covers north of India, it encompasses the region of foothills of Himalayas. This region has lot of hill stations, valleys, pilgrim centres. The following are some of the important stations of tourist interest:

· 1. Jammu
· 2. Delhi
· 3. Amritsar
· 4. Simla
· 5. Chandigarh
· 6. Pattankot
· 7. Lucknow
· 8. Moradabad
· 9. Haridwar
· 10. Deharadun